Arizona/Utah

Thoughts from hiking in the Grand Canyon

These canyons reach so deep

That I’m afraid to

Let you get to the heart of me

The rivers below seem pretty

But it’s twists and turns can grow so weary

Slipping between the rocks

Sometimes I still get caught

Between this moment and

The one that I was standing in

When I started to believe

I wasn’t worth believing in

So I linger near the brink

Of what has been and what can be

Yet I’m realizing

All this time I’ve still been here

I never lost myself

I just got blinded by the fear

Of falling apart

With every crack in the walls

Of a love

I was too afraid to start

And Lord, I get so tired

Of trying to keep up

With everyone around me

All this time a voice was whispering

“Go at your own pace,

Take all the time you need”

But I was so worried

About making anyone wait for me

I charged on ahead

My heart in my throat

My body aching

And doesn’t it seem funny

Boys, they fall in love so quickly

And seem to climb back out more easily

But I’m just a girl who walks slowly

And once I fall, I end up plunging

Leave a comment